A Life Lesson To Ponder

image

This past week I regressed, and then analyzed it. And I designed an experiment to measure the likelihood that my hypothesis was correct. I did math despite my statistically challenged brain. And, while it was difficult, I loved every minute! From this experience I was brought to tears of joy. Wierd? Strange? Well, hear me out and then make up your mind.

For several years I have had a desire to complete a certain professional certification. The thing is that God created me with some natural interests and passions. He instills in all of us an excitement for something. Photography, gardening, accounting, chemistry, caring for others, teaching, math, cooking, hunting, writing, painting, music, computers, speaking, running, swimming, law, something.  We are all created with a natural curiosity and interest in something. So why wouldn’t the same God who instilled that passion give us opportunities to pursue those things? Actually, He does.

I know this to be true with significant certainity. I know it because God’s promises and my own experiences line up.  Proverbs 3:5-6 tells us that He will direct us to great opportunities to pursue our passions. It is an if-then statement. If we:

1)  Trust Him with all our heart
2)  Don’t try to force things on our own
3)  Acknowledge Him by making His ways our ways, in all things

Then

1) He will direct your path

God desires that His people be happy. Psalm 144:15 is where we find, ” Happy are the people with such blessings. Happy are the people whose God is Yahweh.” Jeremiah 29:11 is where He declare that His thoughts for us are for fabulous things!

Deuteronomy 28:1-14 is a fabulous promise from God to people who choose obedience to His ways above everything else. Here it is, from The Message version of The Bible:

“If you listen obediently to the Voice of God, your God, and heartily obey all his commandments that I command you today, God, your God, will place you on high, high above all the nations of the world. All these blessings will come down on you and spread out beyond you because you have responded to the Voice of God, your God:

God’s blessing inside the city,
God’s blessing in the country;
God’s blessing on your children,
    the crops of your land,
    the young of your livestock,
    the calves of your herds,
    the lambs of your flocks.
God’s blessing on your basket and bread bowl;
God’s blessing in your coming in,
God’s blessing in your going out.”

So, here’s what brought me to tears: God created me with interests and passions. I choose His ways because I love Him so much that I don’t want anything to hinder our relationship.  I love Him because I know what He has saved me from, provided for me, healed me from, brought me out of, ways He has changed me; the peace and hope that never leaves me because we know each other.  Because I love Him, I choose to live by His rules, and have experienced satisfaction 100% of the time. His ways work. Mine, not so much.  And I am here to testify that time and time again He has provided me with opportunites to pursue these passions in ways above and beyond anything I would have ever thought possible. 

It is the desire of my heart that others come to love God so much that they want to know His thoughts and ways. This happens only through relationship with His son, Christ Jesus. (John 14:6)  The reason I so strongly desire this is so that the others experience the same blessings, joys, provision, and peace that I have known in a tangible way time and time again.  (From the Thesaurus, experience is “to come to a knowledge of (something) by living through it”) 

You would tell me of a great vacation resort where you had a wonderful experience, and recommend I visit there. You would share with me the name of a realtor, with whom you had a fabulous experience. You would tell me about a doctor with whom you have had success. So why wouldn’t I tell you about a life changing experience that works 100%of the time: obedience to God for no other reason than love for Him, resulting in blessings, joy, and peace beyond my wildest dreams.

This week I had yet another of many experiences, that surpassed anything I could have imagined. It wasn’t the service provided, although they delivered with excellence. It was the innate knowing that I had accomplished something challenging only through God’s provision of the opportunity; because He loves me so much that He cares about my passions, interests, and desires. Why wouldn’t I love a God like that?!

Let me encourage you to trust Him, try His ways, and see what He does with your passions and dreams!

About Beth Gifford

Change agent, business executive, Pastor's wife, and mom having a great life!
This entry was posted in Life Lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

